Compliance Dismissals

Some offenses are entitled to compliance dismissals. If your citation qualifies to request dismissal, you may appear in person (or by mail) prior to your initial appearance date on your citation. You will be required to present appropriate PROOF the violation was corrected to the Court Clerk’s office. Please review requirements and dismissal fees below.

If you have any questions, please contact the Court Clerk's office. 

Required

Forms to be Completed:
Motion to Dismiss - $10 Fee (PDF)
Motion to Dismiss - $20 Fee (PDF)
Motion to Dismiss - Insurance (PDF)

License Plate Violations

 

Expired License Plate/Registration


  • Provide proof of receipt for appropriate penalties fees paid to the registrar's office upon renewal and present to the court before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $20 dismissal fee to the court.

No Vehicle Registration/Operating an Unregistered Vehicle


  • You must appear before your initial appearance date and schedule a court date to meet with the judge to request dismissal for this violation.   

Operate a Vehicle Without Front License Plate


  • Provide proof (receipt and/or picture) that a front license plate was affixed to the vehicle before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $10 dismissal fee to the court.   

Display Altered/Unclean/Obscured License Plate


  • Provide proof (receipt and/or picture) of violation corrected before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $10 dismissal fee to the court.   

Driver's License Violations


Expired Driver's License


  • Provide proof of a renewed driver's license to the court before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $20 dismissal fee to the court.   

Fail to Display Driver's License


  • Provide proof a valid Texas Driver's License before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $10 dismissal fee to the court.   

Fail to Report Change of Address


  • Provide proof your address was corrected with Austin before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $20 dismissal fee to the court.   

No Valid Driver's License


  • You must appear before your initial appearance date and schedule a court date to meet with the judge.   

Violate Driver's License Restriction/Endorsement


  • You must appear before your initial appearance date, and schedule a court date to meet with the judge.   

Defective Equipment Violations


Defective Equipment


(Brake Lights, Window Tint, No License Plate Lamp, No Front License Plate)


  • Provide proof (receipt and/or picture) of violation corrected before your initial appearance date on your citation;
  • Pay a $10 dismissal fee to the court.   

Insurance Violations


Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (FMFR/No Insurance) 

  • A defendant must present a copy of his/her insurance card showing you are a listed driver and you had coverage at the date and time of the violation, and the car is listed as a covered vehicle. If a defendant did not have insurance at the date and time of the violation, and you have purchased a Valid Texas Liability Insurance policy, you may be able to request Deferred Disposition to keep this offense from effecting your driving record. Please contact the Court Clerk’s office at 817-491-0813. 
NOTICE: A no insurance conviction to your driving record may result in a $250 surcharge assessed, per year, for 3 years.

For more detailed information visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website.
 

Warning:


Please be aware the Roanoke Municipal Court may call to confirm your insurance policy. "It is a crime to intentionally or knowingly file a fraudulent court record or a fraudulent instrument with the clerk." - G.C. 51.904